The Pantry: Blueberry Sour Cream Pancakes

In April of this year for our ninth anniversary, my husband bought me a copy of Pioneer Woman’s cookbook, The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Recipes from an Accidental Country Girl.   Before you groan about him buying a cookbook as an anniversary present*, you need to know that he bought me exactly what I wanted.  I have no qualms about accepting and loving cookbooks, small appliances, and kitchen gadgets as presents.  Did you read that, honey—remember the words” Le Creuset “and “Kitchen-Aid Stand Mixer”.  In red.  Please?

Anyway, I was talking about the cookbook.  The recipe that first caught my attention was Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.  My thought process went a little something like this, “Sour cream?  Really? And no milk anywhere to be found?  But it’s the Pioneer Woman.  She wouldn’t put it out there if it wasn’t good.  And she cooks for cowboys.  Who judges pancakes better than cowboys?”  So I made them.

I hid the recipe and ingredients from my family until they declared that they were the best pancakes ever.  Then I dropped the bombshell, and they asked for more.  The woman is a genius.

Yesterday morning when my boy and I hit the local Farmer’s Market, I spied pints of plump blueberries.  In an instant, I knew one of those pints was destined for a date with Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes.  It would be a messy match made in breakfast heaven, and it was–oh, it was.

Blueberry Sour Cream Pancakes

Ingredients

1 batch of PW’s Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes, pages 76-77 of The Pioneer Woman Cooks cookbook

1/2 to  3/4 pint of blueberries

Directions

I was going to post the step-by-step recipe for these pancakes, but it seems that PW doesn’t have this version up on her site.  Well, that makes sense since it appears in her cookbook.  And, you know, I’m such a total fan of her cookbook that I’d rather you buy it than have me give it away here.

EDIT 4/9/13: Hey, guess what?!  PW just posted the recipe for these.  Yay!  Here you go: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2013/04/edna-maes-sour-cream-pancakes/

I will tell you that immediately after ladling the batter, I drop 4-6 blueberries on top of each pancake.  It takes about ½ to ¾ a pint—around 30-50 berries, depending on the size of the berries.

Buy the cookbook, try ‘em, thank me in the morning.

*For Mother’s Day, the Husband took me and the kids to Charlotte for the weekend to see PW, where I got my cookbook signed.

The next day we hit the local science museum and shopped at IKEA.  He even had a horrible cold when he did this.  Did he complain? Nope.  I married a really great guy, and I love him.  Did I mention that blueberry pancakes are his favorite?

4 responses to “The Pantry: Blueberry Sour Cream Pancakes

  1. I seriously need that cookbook. I bought it for my library and there’s a waiting list! So yeah, I need to buy my own.

    These are going to be the first thing I make.

  2. Make sure you follow her instructions step-by-step. I don’t know why, but the two times I just dumped the ingredients together instead of the way she said to, they had a metallic taste that was NOT good. When I followed her instructions to the letter, they were perfect.

  3. I bet those would be good with my homemade blueberry syrup! It’s intensely blueberry flavored, but not all that sweet.

  4. An excuse to buy more blueberries! I’ve never made blueberry syrup, but I’ve done a raspberry sauce. I wonder if they follow the same formula.

Leave a Reply

