The Pantry: Blackberry Goo

Among the spoils from our trip to the Farmers Market on Saturday was a container of the largest, sweetest blackberries that I have ever eaten in my life.

Most of them were eaten out-of-hand for dessert on Saturday night, but I had about 1 and 1/2 cups left over.

What to do with only  one and a half  cups of blackberries?  I don’t really like cobbler, and a blackberry crisp sounded a little strange to me.  Cake.  Blackberry cake sounded fabulous.  But here’s the thing–I am the only one in the house that will eat blackberries.  When you’re the only one that eats something, it’s usually not a good idea to bake a giant cake.  Well, not unless you want to discover that you’ve eaten the whole thing by yourself, so I decided to go small scale.

I made up a batter, poured it over some berries, and baked it for a while.  Experimenting in the kitchen is fun–it’ll either work, or it’ll be terrible.  I didn’t get cake, I got goo, and the goo was good.

Blackberry Goo

Ingredients

½  cup all-purpose flour

¾  cup granulated sugar

¼  teaspoon baking soda

½ cup milk

4 tablespoons butter, melted

1 ¼ to 1 ½ cups blackberries

1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice (optional)

Vanilla ice cream (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lightly grease a 3-cup baking dish–mine is 7×5.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together flour, sugar, and baking soda.  Stir in milk and butter.
  3. Place blackberries in baking dish.  I had leftover lemon juice from Saturday’s lemonade, so I sprinkled some on top of the blackberries.  If your berries are too tart, you might want to sprinkle a little extra sugar on top now.
  4. Pour batter over berries.
  5. Place baking dish on a rimmed sheet pan to catch any spills, and bake for 25 minutes.  At this point, place a greased sheet of aluminum foil (greased side down) on top of the cake/goo to make sure it doesn’t overbrown–I did it at 30 minutes, and mine was too brown.  Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes.
  6. Remove, cool, cut, and serve.  Vanilla ice cream would be the perfect partner in crime for this dessert.  I didn’t have any for my picture and taste test, but I plan on buying some tonight to eat with it for dessert!

Makes 4 servings.

Leave a Reply

