Travel: Seeing the Local Sights

I live in a world famous tourist destination full of culture and history.  Well, I did until about eight months ago when we traded our town house for a house in the country.  Of course our “country house” is all of five minutes from the local town, and the local town is only twenty minutes from our old townhouse in the city.  In any event, now I live in the place that all of those historical type people circa the 1700’s used to spend their family vacations.  So, I guess we didn’t trade the history—just the city for the town.

Where was I going with this?

Oh, yeah.  There are about a million places to explore around here, which means there are a billion opportunities to take photographs.  I’ve lived here for fifteen years now, why have I only been to a handful of these places?

Recently, I have made it my mission to change that.  We started with Cypress Gardens earlier this month. 

More on Cypress Gardens later.

We are heading off to Brookgreen Gardens  next.   My goal is to visit at least one or two new locations a month until the end of the year. 

I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

