The Pantry: Crock Pot Pulled Pork Sandwich

Crock pots.  Most people either love them or they hate them.  Me, I’m in the love them category.  I find mine to be completely convenient, especially for holiday cooking and family gatherings.  You prep it, turn it on, and totally forget about it until it’s ready to serve.  I can’t think of anything easier.

This is not real pit smoked barbecue, but it’s the next best thing at home.  This pulled pork is an excellent dish for picnics and summer gatherings.  Since it’s cooked in the crock pot, it doesn’t heat up the house and it takes next to no effort.

Crock Pot Pulled Pork Sandwiches

Ingredients

3 ½- 4 ½ lb. pork butt

Salt

Pepper

1 large onion, peeled and wedged

5 cloves garlic, peeled and halved

1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce

1 bottle beer (I use Sam Adam’s Boston Lager)

½ to 1 cup water

Bottle of your favorite barbecue sauce

Hamburger buns

Directions

  1. Trim most of the fat from the meat.  Make sure that you trim as much fat as possible before cooking the pork, or it’ll take forever to remove it from the cooked meat.
  2. Cut meat into three large chunks; rub meat with salt and pepper—the amount will vary according to personal taste.  I prefer more pepper (usually 2 teaspoons) than salt (1 1/2 teaspoons).
  3. Drop seasoned meat, onion wedges, and garlic cloves into crock pot; drizzle with Worcestershire.  Pour in beer and ½ to 1 cup of water until liquid is approximately halfway up the side of the crock pot.
  4. Cook on low for 6-8 hours.  I usually cook it for around 8 hours.
  5. Turn off crock pot.  Remove meat from liquid by using a slotted spoon.  Let meat cool slightly, so that it can be easily handled.
  6. Using your fingers, remove and discard any remaining fat or bone (if any) from meat.  Discard onions and garlic.  Don’t think that leaving the onions and garlic in there to eat is a good idea either—they’ll be too mushy and have no more flavor to add to the dish.
  7. Pull pork with fingers or two forks until it’s shredded.
  8. In a bowl, mix desired amount of pork with the desired amount of your favorite barbecue sauce.  As far as barbecue sauce is concerned, use whatever kind you like.  Around here we all like different sauces—I like mustard based and the husband likes tomato based, so we mix our sauces individually.  If you and yours aren’t picky, I’d mix whatever your desired amount of sauce is into all of the meat.  I’ve never done it, but I’d start with ½ cup and eyeball it from there.
  9. Serve on a hamburger bun.

Servings 8-10

2 responses to “The Pantry: Crock Pot Pulled Pork Sandwich

  1. That looks so good and I would make that, I might make that this week actually! I’ve been looking for something similar for a while – I can’t really find a b-b- q sauce I’m crazy about so I’ve not done anything like that…any suggestions? I don’t want the overly sweet/smokey store brands…

    Tracy

  2. My husband likes KC Masterpiece BBQ sauce–but that’s all brown sugar. I’m a SC mustard based kind of gal. I usually just mix up a little mayo, mustard, pepper combination for myself. Good luck looking for a sauce. If you find something that works for you, stop by and let me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

