H&G: Household Projects

We’re going to finally “try” to finish the foyer this weekend.

Hallelujah.

Almost eight months ago, we–mostly I–embarked upon the Herculean task of painting and decorating the rooms of our new-to-us house.  The builder’s grade standard eggshell color in flat paint just was not cutting it for me.  I have to have a little color in my life.

I started small with the guest bath, which I painted a serene sage color, and then painted the same color in the master suite.  Eventually, I took on the laundry room, mudroom, kitchen, and dining rooms.  When I’d had it, the Mister picked up a brush, and gave me a hand in the family room and the “library.”  Eventually I worked my way to the upstairs hall, and this was great…sort of.

All that remained was the foyer.

This probably doesn’t sound like a big deal to you.  Except that we have a pretty open floor plan…and the foyer is almost twenty feet high…and includes an open stair case.  Oh, and did I mention that I’m sort of cheap, and would rather paint it myself?

So I did what most hot-headed, full-steam-ahead folks would do: I painted the downstairs portion and the areas on the stairs that I could easily reach.  Then the rest was left.

It’s been three months.  It’s driving me batty.  I don’t like loose ends.

Today we’re borrowing an extendable ladder that will work on stairs, and we’ll be finishing this project.  Finally.

All that will  be left in the painting war are the kids’ rooms and their bathroom.  Oh, and the garage, but that’s a completely different story.

One response to “H&G: Household Projects

  1. This is a superb post and may be one that needs to be followed up to see what goes on

    A friend emailed this link the other day and I will be eagerly waiting your next content. Continue on the top-notch work.

Leave a Reply

