TDG: Ten-Dollar Word

As a non-practicing English teacher and complete English nerd, when I run across a word that I don’t know I gleefully “look it up!”  Any former student will tell you, amongst other probably not-so-nice things, that was the phrase they heard the  most often.

Last night, as I hovered over my husband’s shoulder while he read something on the computer, I shouted out, “Now that’s a ten dollar word!”  Then I rolled the word around in my mouth, asked him what he thought, and listened to him agree.  A moment later I said, “I don’t know what that word means.  Do you?”  He admitted that he didn’t.

“Look it up!  I want to know!  Anything described as being ‘appallingly’ so has to be worth knowing!”

And he humored me.

tendentious:

Expressing or intending to promote a particular cause or point of view, esp. a controversial one
  • a tendentious reading of history

And now you know a ten-dollar word, too.

Leave a Reply

