The Pantry: Lima Beans with Bacon

I’m going to let you in on a little secet.  It may even be a little bit blasphemous.  I don’t know–I’ll let you be the judge.

I like lima beans that come from…

a can.

I know.  Crazy, isn’t it?  For that matter, I also like peas that come from a can.  In fact, I prefer them.  Fresh and frozen beans or peas just don’t float my boat.  There’s something about the taste and texture that’s just off for me.

That said, I’ll give you my recipe for limas, but you’ve got to remember that it’s the most unpretentious, basic, bare bones, time-saving recipe, making it perfect for a busy Thankgiving dinner where you’ve got 6 crazy, labor-intensive things to make.

Lima Beans with Bacon

Ingredients:

1 slice bacon

1 can lima beans (I like Del Monte)

1 can of water

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp pepper

1 tsp butter

Directions:

1.  Cut bacon into small pieces.  Cook in a medium sauce pot over medium-low heat until bacon is cooked.  I don’t go super crispy–there’s not much point because the bacon will soften considerably when you cook the beans with it.  Once bacon is cooked, drain out fat, leaving bacon in pot.

2.  Pour lima beans into pot with bacon.  Using lima bean can, add one can of water.  Also add salt, pepper, and butter.

3.  Let beans come to a boil, then reduce the heat to low and let them simmer for approximately 10-15 minutes.  Keep an eye out, making sure your water doesn’t all evaporate–add more, if necessary.

4.  Strain beans and bacon from water to serve.

Yields 6 servings.

And, no, your eyes aren’t deceiving you.  I have no picture today!  In fact, instead of waiting until after I’ve made and photographed them, I’ll be sharing several of my Thanksgiving recipes over the next week or so sans pictures.  I promise I’ll add them when I make dinner next month, so you’ll know what they look like if you want to make them for Christmas.

Leave a Reply

