Holidays: The Final Thanksgiving Line-Up

It’s come and gone, and is now a fond memory–or will  be as soon as we’ve plowed through the deliciousness that only leftovers of this caliber can afford.  Can anyone say Hot Browns?

Thanksgiving.  This year, it was epic.  Epic, I tell you.  We used every serving dish and serving utensil we owned.  We used every piece of flatware we had, every wine glass, and every drinking glass.  I used almost every appliance that I own, and I even borrowed appliances from others.  Epic.

With all of my menu contemplation that I felt the need to share with you post after post, I thought it’d be nice if I gave you the final line-up from our Thanksgiving Day menu.

The pictures–yeah, they’re not the best (‘cept the apple cider one, which I took this morning–good morning light, time to set the shot, an 8-year old photography assistant willing to stand around with a blanket– yeah, it works!).  I was in a hurry, and I think my family and friends were starting to think I was a little nuts for snapping photos of turkey.  That and the lighting– completely miserable.  I had to give up and just let the flash take over for me.  It happens.

That said, here it is:

Cajun Fried Turkey (cooked by the husband and the bro-in-law)

Honey Baked Ham (courtesy of Honey Baked Ham–oh, yum!)

Pecan Studded Wild Rice

Mashed Potatoes

Cream of Chicken Gravy (hooray for Campbell’s Soup)

Turkey Gravy

Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Pecan Streusel

Sue’s Pineapple Bake (made by my mother-in-law, Sue!)

Baked Macaroni and Cheese

Steamed Green Beans with Shallots and Bacon

Canned Green Beans with Bacon (boy doesn’t like fresh–kind of like me and lima beans, I guess)

Lima Beans with Bacon

Asparagus Casserole (made by my mother in law)

Cornbread and Sausage Stuffed Apples (front), Apple-Cranberry Sauce (middle), Mesclun Salad with Balsamic Vinaigrette (back)

Apple-Cranberry Sauce (a better view)

Sister Schubert Dinner Rolls

(clockwise left to right) my friend’s Tiramisu, Turtles, Publix’s Pumpkin Pie, Pepperidge Farm’s Lemon Cake, apple pie

Pecan Crunch Pumpkin Cheesecake Pie–when I post the recipe for this one, memorize it.  You WANT to make this.  I swear you do.

Spiced Whipped Cream

Warm Spiced Apple Cider (hats off to the Boy for standing behind the breakfast bar with a blanket held up so that I could get this shot without showing my disastrous mess of a dining room!)  The centerpiece–by the way–was put together for me an hour before lunch was served by my sister in law.  I’ll tell you more about it later.  I only wish I had her flower arranging abilities.

Not pictured:

Sodas, water, iced tea, Ocean Spray’s jellied cranberry sauce from a can, 5-Cup Salad (I don’t know how I missed it!), and homemade butter.

Like I said Epic.

And it all made an epic mess,

As you can see, Asparagus Casserole is a favorite around here.  Can’t get the kids to eat their asparagus and peas?  Cover ’em with oozy, gooey cheddar cheese!

Hey, there are the 5-cup salad and sliced cranberry sauce!  You can see them below– light yellow bowl and beautiful crystal serving dish.  When we do canned sauce, we serve it up right.  And the leftover turkey?  Don’t let the amount on the plate fool you.  We  had more than 20lbs of turkey this year.

Bread, which we never have enough of, surprisingly didn’t disappear as quickly this year.  I think we were all stuffed from everything else!

The turkey gravy–a hit!

And Sue’s Pineapple Bake?  Faghedaboutit.  No leftovers to be had.  Darn!  There’s a reason we request it for every single holiday or special occasion.

We take our desserts seriously around here, too.

Our guests cleaned 90% of this massive mess for me.  They were awesome.  One might even say they’re epic.

And, yes, as you can tell by the clock–lunch was a three hour feast.  Three hours.

Chew on that.

One response to “Holidays: The Final Thanksgiving Line-Up

Leave a Reply

