TDG: My Grandpa

mich great mama grandpa and dad

As you may have guessed, I didn’t take the picture above.  In fact, I’m not sure who did.  If I were to hazard a guess, I’d say my mom did.  See, I’m the cute little one year old holding the puppy while sitting in my great-grandmother’s lap, and this was taken in ’76.  If I am to understand correctly, I took my first steps that day.  My dad is behind me–he’s a youngin’, isn’t he?  The man behind my great-grandmother…that’s my Grandpa.  His birthday would have been today.

My Grandpa was a contractor.  When I think of him, I think of paint spattered ladders and washing out paint brushes.  I think of sweet gum balls on the ground, Fraggle Rock, and Robin Williams as Popeye.  I have memories of spaghetti and birthday cake, of a lab named Bilbo Baggins, and of Ruldoph flying over his house on a cold Christmas Eve.  I remember him at my father’s college graduation.

He passed away twenty-five years ago–I was only ten.  I think he’d be proud of my dad, my mom, me.

His birthday was today.

Leave a Reply

