The Pantry: Pecan Crusted Chicken and Linguine in a Chardonnay Cream Sauce

Chicken is a mainstay in our house–fried, baked, broiled, smothered…you get the picture.  This is a great recipe if you’re a little bored with the same old chicken.

Like so many things I’ve been making recently, this one was treated two different ways: my way and the way of the picky eaters.  I’ll give you the lowdown for both ways.

The inspiration for this one came from a recipe on the side of a box of Publix’s linguine.  You know me, though–I can’t leave anything unaltered.

Chicken Linguine with Chardonnay Cream Sauce

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken tenderloins

3 tbsp flour

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp pepper

t tbsp finely crushed pecans

1 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

1/2 cup baby bella mushrooms, diced (optional)

1 tbsp garlic, minced (optional)

2 tbsp yellow onion, finely diced (optional)

1 cup heavy cream

1/3 cup chardonnay

8 oz dried linguine, cooked & drained

1/4 cup Parmesan, shredded

1 tbsp parsley, chopped (optional)

2 tbsp pecans, toasted & roughly chopped

Directions:

1.  Cut chicken into pieces approximately 1 inch in size.

In a large zip-top bag, combine flour, salt, pepper, and finely crushed pecans (use your food processor, blender, or a rolling pin to crush the pecans).  Add the chicken to the bag, and shake to evenly coat the chicken pieces.

2.  Heat butter and olive oil over medium high heat.  Be careful not to burn the butter, and when the butter and oil are sufficiently hot, add the chicken.

When they brown up some, give ’em a stir.

Now, I have to tell you, if I were making this for me and me alone, I would have added the mushrooms, garlic, and onions to this pan  right now.  However, I have to please all the palates in the house, so I started those items up with a little butter in a different pan.

Back to the chicken, though…

3.  When the chicken is fully cooked– nice and brown on the outside, juices clear and meat white on the inside (I won’t tell if you snitch a piece out of the pan to check and then–if it’s cooked– eat)– pour in the cream.

Then grab your chardonnay,

and add it to the cream sauce.

Let it reduce a little,

but not too much.  Don’t be like me.  I cooked mine a little too long.  This is one of those recipes that I suggest you have everything laid out ahead of time (yes, I know you’re supposed to do that all of the time, but usually I am my own sous chef).   It cooked much more quickly than I expected.

Add your Parmesan cheese,

and pour in your drained linguine.

Don’t worry if you get a little pasta water in the sauce.  It really won’t hurt things.

Add the remaining pecans (they add something really great to the dish) and parsley, give it a stir, and then you can plate it up.  I snitched some into a separate bowl for myself and mixed it with the mushrooms, garlic, and onions.

Yield: 4-6 servings

One response to “The Pantry: Pecan Crusted Chicken and Linguine in a Chardonnay Cream Sauce

  1. This pecan crusted chicken with linguine looks divine! I usually make my Linguine with chicken a different way but I will be trying this recipe.

Leave a Reply

