The Pantry: Pizza Pasta Salad Two Ways

I’ve been absent for a while, but hopefully things will pick up around here soon.  Living sans lap top has affected me far more than I thought it would, but I have got lots to talk about later.

While it isn’t one of the other recipes I promised you, here’s one that I found floating around in my file folder.  I apparently had it all ready to go and never hit the submit button.  For some reason, I have a feeling once I hit submit I’ll remember exactly why I hadn’t sent it to live in the ether earlier.  That, or I’ll realize that I just plain forgot about it.

Either way, this pasta salad is completely delicious.

Pizza Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

1 heaping cup garden rotini, uncooked [edit pasta type corrected–duh!]

14 slices pepperoni, cut in thin strips

1/3 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/2 cup petite diced tomatoes with basil-oregano, drained

1/4 cup diced green bell pepper

1/4 cup diced baby Bella mushrooms

2 tbsp diced yellow onion

1 tbsp Italian dressing

1/2 tsp Italian seasoning

1 tsp white vinegar

1/4 tsp pepper

2 tbsp Parmesan cheese, shredded

Directions:

1.  Cook rotini according to package directions.

2.  Combine pepperoni, mozzarella, tomatoes, bell pepper, mushrooms, and onions in a large bowl.

Add the rotini,

dressing, Italian seasoning, vinegar, and pepper.  Give it a toss.

3.  Serve the salad up with a sprinkle of Parmesan on top.

If I had had some black olives, I’d have added those, too.

Doesn’t it look delicious?  If you sit it in the refrigerator to chill, the flavors meld beautifully.  I have a hard time knowing this is even in the house, though.  I’ve been know to toss some in the freezer for 15 minutes in order to chill it faster.

And, here’s the thing… you can make it creamy.  Just add 1 tablespoon of real mayonnaise.

It’s not quite as pretty,

but it tastes so good.

Servings: 4-6 unless you refuse to share, and you might do just that.

Leave a Reply

