TDG: Odds and Ends: #1

I’ve not been as good about blogging this year as I’d hoped.  I’m pretty sure it’s a combination of the general business of life and the fact that my laptop’s hard drive collapsed in on itself a couple of months ago.  I got a new hard drive, but I apparently failed to keep a hard copy of the operating system…I fail at technology.  So what I essentially have is a paper weight collecting dust on the bookshelf.

But for right now,  I have a short time while the baby toddler (when did THAT happen???) naps, so I’ll catch you up on the most recent of events.   I’ll type them all up now, but release them all serial-like.   Look at me, Ma.  I’m Charles Dickens!  Hah!  Even I don’t buy that one.

Anyway…here’s #1

Spring Soccer

Boy started the spring soccer season a little more than a month ago.  It’s hard to believe it, but they only have 5 games left in the season.  Short, short season this year.

Saturday’s game was going well, then boy went down, and– as is likely to happen when you are lying on the field–he got stepped on.

I wasn’t sure what  I was watching through the viewfinder, so forgive me if I seem like a horrible parent for documenting the injury on film.

It wasn’t until the wails accompanying this shot that I realized My baby’s hurt! Then I did the dreaded parent’s fast walk to the player’s bench, ’cause my baby is injured.  I hate that walk.  Anyone whose child plays sports has experienced it, and every other parent who watches it feels the worry radiating off of that parent.

I’m happy to report that he was okay.  He has a nice cleat-shaped deep bruise on his thigh, but he got right back into the game after half-time,

and he didn’t complain about it all weekend and he’s frothing at the mouth at the chance to scrimmage one of the other teams tonight, so all is well.

Somehow I think his sister will be following in his footsteps.  We can’t seem to keep her off of the field.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

