TDG: Fall? Please? Can you Hear Me?

It’s not much of a secret that lately I’ve been longing for fall.  It’s obviously hot here.  It’s hot everywhere lately, so that’s not much of a secret.  Right now, though, I am so over summer.  I mean, I’m really, really, really over it.

Really.

It’s not that it’s been awful– in fact, most of the summer has been pretty enjoyable.  I’ve gotten to spend a lot of weekend time with my mom and all-day, everyday time with the Boy.  We picked basket after basket of strawberries and buckets overflowing with blueberries.  We played in the kiddie pools, wandered antique stores, and watched a dollar movie or two.  It’s been summer.

But the heat…the heat is getting to me this year.

So here I sit, the desktop weather gadget displaying a heat index of 106, perusing apple-picking farms in the mountains.  I’m dreaming about apples in the same way I dreamed of strawberries and peaches not five or six months ago.  I’m dreaming about early morning soccer games– the kind that we’ll watch while wearing jeans and sweatshirts.  I’m dreaming about a house that stays clean for more than fifteen minutes at a time, and laundry that actually gets put away where it belongs instead of living in the basket where it was once folded.  I’m dreaming about homework.  Now just how screwed up is that?

Fall?  Please?  Can you hear me?  I miss you.  Come home soon.

Leave a Reply

