The Pantry: Caramel Cake Part Four- Caramel Butter Cream Frosting

Okay, here’s the thing.  I don’t like butter cream frosting.  I just don’t.  Despite the fact that I do love desserts quite a bit, I really don’t like things that are too sweet, and butter cream frosting is just that…too sweet.  If I were to change one thing about this cake, it’d be this frosting.  Simply put, I wouldn’t use it.  Oh, it’s good frosting.  Some people would probably really like it a lot, and it was much better cold than room temperature.  It was good frosting, but it wasn’t the kind of frosting that I like.  However, you should know that I was the kid that always scraped the frosting off of the cupcake before I ate it, not the kid who only ate the frosting to leave the cupcake languishing in its paper wrapper.

Caramel Butter Cream Frosting

Ingredients:

¾ cup butter, softened

3 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup caramel sauce

1/8 tsp salt

Directions:

Beat all ingredients together at high speed

until light, fluffy, and creamy.

Yield: Just enough to frost and fill 3 layer 8 inch cake

2 responses to “The Pantry: Caramel Cake Part Four- Caramel Butter Cream Frosting

  1. What about whipped cream? I mean, instead of this frosting. A girl can’t have too much whipped cream, can she?

    • I’ve thought about that. The cake itself is really, really yummy. I’ve been thinking about doing the same cake, but with a filling of raspberries and a whipped cream frosting. I’ll let you know how it turns out if I do it.

Leave a Reply

