Christmas Cookies

I promised quite some time ago that I would bring you some of my favorite cookies, and I hoped to get them out there in time for Christmas.  Unfortunately, as I explained in my post for those to-die-for coconut macaroons, the photos suffered in favor of the actual baking of those cookies.

My kitchen and dining room have been adrift in seas of craft paper, glue,

ribbons, and tissue paper.

Seriously…it’s been everywhere.

And it’s been worth it– every second.

Especially since it’s meant that my kitchen has smelled divine for the last two weeks.  I’m choosing to ignore all of the loads of dishes I’ve been washing.  Dishwashers are phenomenal inventions.  Don’t you agree?

Anyway…

All of this babbling is to say that even though I don’t have step-by-steps worthy (and considering some of the shots I’ve posted here before– that’s saying something!) of showing you, I still wanted to direct you to some of these recipes that are out there.  They are soooooooo divinely delicious.  I hope that if you get the chance to try them, you’ll agree.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (pictured above)

These come straight from the blog pages of Smitten Kitchen.  I don’t do anything more to them, so I’ll send you to her site for that recipe.  I don’t like to chill them, like she does– they get a little too thick for my tastes when I do that; however, her basic recipe is worthwhile.

Mint Chocolate Delights (pictured above)

I found this recipe on the back of a bag of ‘Nestle Toll House: Dark Chocolate and Mint Morsels.’  I was skeptical at first, but that first taste was enough to prove these to be perfect in almost every way– just enough chocolate to mint to tide you over ’til Girl Scout cookie season!  The recipe is here on the Nestle ‘Very Best Baking’ site.  I don’t mind admitting that I stockpiled a bag or two of these for Valentine’s Day baking.

Molasses Spice Cookies (pictured above)

I found these last year here on Delish’s site.  They originally come from the home ec maven herself– Martha Stewart– and they remain one of my favorite holiday cookies of all time.  The ONLY change I make to the recipe is to reduce the amount of nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon and to add in 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger.  These are the perfect blend of spicy, crispy but chewy, sugary but salty that you could ever ask for in a cookie.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

