Chewy-Chunky Brownies

Trying to think of a dessert for dinner the other not– something not overly complicated, something everyone would eat, something….chocolate.  When my Boy suggested ice cream, my mind went straight to brownie sundaes.  Everyone could build their own, and then everyone would be happy– most of all, me.

I didn’t have any brownie mix in the pantry, but I did have cocoa powder, so I riffed off of the recipe that was right there on the back of the yellow cocoa container, adding a little of this and a pinch of that and a generous glug of something altogether delicious– I’m sure you’ll agree– that just took these things over the top.  Then I baked off in an entirely not in the recipe directions way, and voila…delicious, thick, chewy, nutty, chunky, chocolatey, cocoa-y brownies.

The pictures– they’re sparse and not really styled– I know, I’m reverting.  It’s just that sometimes I don’t want to take the time to set the shot– I just want to make the food, get it on the table, and eat it.  The daisy and swirl of caramel sauce are my feeble attempts at styling.

Chewy-Chunky Brownies

inspired by Nestle’s Chewy Cocoa Brownies recipe 

Ingredients:

1-2/3 cups sugar

3/4 cup butter, softened

2 Tbsp water

2 extra-large eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 Tbsp Kahlua

1-1/3 cups ap flour

3/4 cup baking cocoa powder

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 cup chopped pecans

3 oz bittersweet (60% cacao) chocolate, roughly chopped

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9-inch round cake pan.

In large bowl, cream the sugar and butter and butter together.

Add the water, each of the eggs, and the vanilla and Kahlua– mix until just combined.

In a large measuring cup, combine the flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt.

Gently mix those ingredients into the butter mixture.

Fold in the pecans and chopped chocolate.

Told you; my pictures are really lacking.  For some reason, I just didn’t really take any shots.

Spread the brownie mixture into the prepared cake pan, and bake for 20-22 minutes.  Test when timer goes off.  Mine was still a little gooey, so I turned the oven off and left it for another 5 or 6 minutes.

Let brownies cool for half and hour on a rack.

Turn them out after cooling and cut into 8 wedges.  Then you can do what you will to them.

Even put daisies on them.  Zee brownie, eet ees lookeeng at yoo.

Sometimes it’s okay to play with your food.

Please don’t eat the daisies.

Between 4 adults, ours didn’t last more than a day and a half.

Yield: 8 large wedges

One response to “Chewy-Chunky Brownies

  1. Those look great – clearly it is a damn good recipe. One should never buy packet mixtures anyway, it IS cheating, no matter what anyone says.

Leave a Reply

