Questions from a 3 am Bout of Insomnia

(1)  Is it possible to take an attractive picture of Pineapple Upside Down Cake?  I have only found two that look moderately appealing, and one of those was for Cracker Barrel.  Even those who I think take beautiful shots of food don’t seem to have one of that dessert.  So, I ask, Is it possible? And this, this is a challenge.

(2)  What makes you something?

Are you a writer because you write, or are you a writer because you write and are published?  Or must you write and be published by someone other than yourself to be a writer?  I do not consider myself a writer, though I have written for myself and others, and I do not consider myself an editor despite the fact that I have edited the work of many, many, many others.

Are you a photographer because you take pictures?  A baker because you bake things?

Must the title be conferred by an independent paying entity to make it so?

I’ve written for others, edited for others, photographed for others, baked for others.

Is it the degree? Mine is in English, but I don’t consider myself a writer.  I know many photographers and bakers who do not have a degree to speak of in their chosen fields, yet they are photographers and bakers.

Is it the certificate?  I have one for teaching, and I used it for a number of years; however, the only people I teach now are my own children.  Am I a teacher?  Are we not all teachers in some way?  I don’t call myself a teacher anymore, but I think maybe I am one.  Maybe.

Is it a combination of all of the above?

So? What is it? What makes us what we are?  Do we just decide for ourselves?  That doesn’t seem right either.  You can’t just decide you’re a doctor or a lawyer or an engineer.

In truth, I think the Pineapple Upside Down Cake question is the more easily answered for now.

2 responses to “Questions from a 3 am Bout of Insomnia

  1. I have nominated you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. Thank you for sharing all of your delicious-looking recipes!

    http://pearlessence.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/kreativ-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

