Watermelon-Blueberry Salad

You may have noticed the lapse between posts this past week.  Balance is something that I’m currently seeking in my life, and it’s something that I’m having a surprisingly difficult time finding.  I know I had it at one time a long, long time ago, so I should (in theory) be able to find my way back; however, it’s proving to be a bit of a challenge.

Point is, I’m feeling the need to take a tiny step away from my current bent to share a recipe with you– it has been a while since I last did that.

I didn’t take any process pictures– mostly because I wasn’t planning on posting about this salad; however, as soon as I took a bite I knew I needed to share.  And, truth be told, it isn’t really a recipe in the normal sense of the word.  It’s more of an idea– a handful of this, a spoonful of that.

More than anything,  this salad is a little sweet, a little spicy, a whole lot of refreshing.  The perfect summer salad, if I say so myself.

And, you know, I do.

Watermelon-Blueberry Salad

There aren’t any exact measurements here, but I’ll try to approximate.  Mostly, I went with what I thought looked like a good balance for me.  Feel free to adjust as you see fit.

Ingredients:

1 large green lettuce leaf, torn into bite-sized pieces

2 paper-thin slices red onion, separated (maybe 8 onion strings–for lack of a better term)

handful of fresh blueberries (approximately 1/3 cup)

1 inch slice of watermelon, cut into 1 inch cubes (maybe 2/3 cup)

feta, crumbled (about 1 tablespoon)

Italian dressing (2 teaspoons)

salt, to taste

pepper, to taste

Directions:

Mix everything together and eat it.

Yield: 1-2 servings, depending on how hungry you are

Leave a Reply

