Twenty Days

So, evidently, I felt the need to take a brief hiatus from digital world– well, from everything except ‘Words with Friends,’ which, to be completely fair, doesn’t require much of a deep time-based commitment.  It’s been a long twenty days since I last wrote anything of merit or even otherwise– unless you count a few recipes that I’ve hastily filed away in the need to be remade and photographed when I, ahem, have the chance stack.

I also realized this morning, as I grabbed my camera to take some shots of my darling, angelic, almost 3-year-old munchkin,

that I haven’t touched my Nikon in more than forty days.  FORTY days.  The battery was almost dead.  The battery for the point-and-shoot was dead.

I’d like to say that I’ve been dashing here, there, thither, and yon, but the truth is that I’ve simply been here dealing with laundry, dishes, bills, and kids.  For the first time in as long as I can remember, I’m ready for school to be back in session.  Perhaps the house will stay clean for longer than three hours at a time. It’s difficult to get motivated to do anything personally productive when you find yourself in a never-ending cycle of spaghetti sauce stains, potty training failures, cookie crumbs, and lawn mowing in 98 degree 85 percent humidity weather.

Not to say that I haven’t indulged a bit over the last month.  I’ve enjoyed the occasional trip to the pool with my mother-in-law and the kids.  I’ve read several books– Wild has been my favorite so far this summer, and Seating Arrangements falls solidly at the bottom of my list.  And my mom, mother-in-law, husband, and dad joined forces to throw an enjoyable little cook-out not too long ago.  Though that might not have been exactly an indulgence for me as a busy time that allowed me to make my mom happy which is awesome in and of itself.

The point is– I’m still here.  I’ll be back soon.  I’m not going to say when because every time I do that, I shoot myself in the foot and spend far too much time feeling guilty for not writing something.  Then I end up with a rambling post much like this one.  You know?

Now, though, it’s time to dirty the dishes that not four hours ago I was standing over loudly proclaiming, “The dishes are done, man.”

Oh well.

Rock n’ roll.

Leave a Reply

