Grocery Shopping

Today is grocery day.  This is primarily because the real grocery days– Saturday and Sunday mornings–were deferred to this morning in favor of helping a friend with a home improvement project.  You’d think that someone who loves to cook would relish the idea of grocery day and all the opportunities shopping for foodstuffs might afford, but I don’t enjoy it– not even a little bit.

I find that grocery shopping is tedious and time-consuming, requiring lists and coupons and (now that school is back in session) calendars detailing everyone’s whereabouts for the next two weeks.  It’s comparing items to figure out if I can squeeze out a nickel here, a dime there, or even a buck thirty-nine anywhere.  I’m not a crazy couponer– in fact, I rarely use them unless the deal is (1) for something we buy already and (2) a really good deal.  The lady with the cart full of seventeen boxes of Honey-Nut Cheerios– yeah, she’s not me.

My Typical Bi-Weekly Grocery Experience:

(1) Survey the house: what are we missing, what do we need

(2) Make a calendar: who’s doing what, where, when and how does that translate to what meals we need, what are we going to eat for those meals

(3) Make the list: combine #’s 1 & 2 to determine what we buy, adjust for the on sale advertisements

(4) Divide the list between Publix (meat, deli, some produce, and really good sale items), Wal-Mart (household care, personal care, dry goods, and canned goods), and the local farm stand (in-season produce)

(5) Drive the 14-mile roundtrip trek, hitting the stores on the way– I’d have to drive that anyway to go to the stores, since we don’t have any really good grocery stores super close to our house

I don’t know how normal this is.  We didn’t do it this way when I was a kid– I don’t think we did at least.  Maybe I just don’t remember it.  I do know that this method seems to be the best for our little family of four.  I just wish it wasn’t so time-consuming.

How do you handle grocery shopping?

4 responses to “Grocery Shopping

  1. 1. turn on the car. 2. put it in gear. 3. be aware it knows the way to the Piggly Wiggly. 3. Utilize the handicap sticker I wish I didn’t have to use. 4. get a grocery cart. 5. turn the cart loose and it fills itself with the same stuff we always get. 6. go to Sue’s checkout line as we love Sue. 7. Pay too much and in unison with the other shoppers decry how prices are too high. 8. drive home and get the garden cart to drag the bags to the back door.

    NEXT DAY. See above.
    alternate days go to either Dollar store and get the stuff we forgot at the Pig, such as trash bags and batteries.

    • Ah, yes. The forgotten stuff. B picks all that stuff on his way home. He usually goes to the store at which I refuse to shop.

  2. They are building a Publix real close to me. I am looking forward to it. Winn Dixi is just a block away and 1/4 mile to Walmart. I have it lucky and it is a good thing because the price of gas. Thanks for sharing.

    • The Bi-Lo that’s only a couple of miles away frequently sells spoiled meat and other out-of-date products, so that long drive to Publix is the only way to go. Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

