Thanksgiving Table

Thanksgiving has come and gone, and it still doesn’t quite feel like it’s over despite the Christmas decorations popping up all over the neighborhood.  Maybe it’s because it was so early this year– I can’t make myself put up the holiday red & green yet– or maybe it’s because we didn’t host this year for the first time in four years.  However, I have to say that I definitely got the best of both worlds.  I was able to help my mother-in-law put on showstopper of a holiday feast.  The brother-in-law fried up the turkeys, his wife made dressing, my mom brought the rolls, my mother-in-law dished up the salad, pineapple bake, and asparagus casserole, and I brought the cranberry sauce, whipped sweet potato casserole, apple pie (I finally found the recipe), pumpkin pie, chocolate chunk pecan pie, maple pumpkin cake, and turtles.    Yes, I did a lot of cooking, but I didn’t have to clean up my house.  Score!

And best of all, I got to do the tables.   I’m happy my in-laws trusted me!

Four yards of smelly burlap (washed twice, dried, ironed for an hour-and-a-half, and cut) four bunches of Publix and Wal-Mart flowers,

a pile of pine cones, votives, sprigs of wheat, and scrapbook paper made for a pretty fine Thanksgiving table.

We had ten adults at the dining table– and what a long, long table it is.  We draped it under a plain white cloth, and then laid out the burlap runner that my husband and I made.

Then I sat out a few vases wrapped in sheer ribbon, mercury glass votives, clear votives, silver bowls, and a few pine cones from last year that had lost their cinnamon smell.

Then I created the flower arrangements.  Not too shabby if I do say so myself.  And I laid out a little wheat grass.

Then out with the dishes, glasses, silver, place cards, and–well– all of that other stuff you need for eating a fancy holiday dinner.

The napkins are my favorite part.  Instead of napkin rings, each is tied with raffia and a sprig of wheat.

It’s difficult to see– I didn’t take very good photos of it– but the centerpiece is made of mums, roses, and wheat.

And it was all just as beautiful after dinner as it was before…

even if the ribbon fell off the vase during the meal.   Should have glued it!

I didn’t take any pictures of the dessert table or the buffet table, but they were variations of the dinner table.

The kids’ table was a blast to do as well.

Each turkey had the kids’ names on the tail feathers.  They didn’t take as long as you would have thought, and I have to give props to Debbie of Happy Clippings for the original idea which I found on Pinterest.  They don’t quite look like hers, but I’d have never thought of this specific idea myself, so credit for the idea– totally to her.  The tablecloth was one that the kids could color and play games on, and in the center of the table was a bowl filled with crayons and other little toys that they could play with while they ate.  When they went home, they each took their turkey cup filled with the toys and crayons.

Loved doing the decor, and I’m so grateful to my mother-in-law for trusting me enough to play stylist to her holiday tables.  It was way more fun than it probably should have been!  Now what should I do for Christmas?

 

 

2 responses to “Thanksgiving Table

  1. You should come to my house and decorate for Christmas. I’ll gladly cook if you’ll do the fancy stuff. Plus, you know, I just want to see you!

Leave a Reply

