Five Favorite Words (4/5)

4) My Five Favorite Words

In no particular order…

One: nonetheless

adverb: even though, nevertheless, however

What’s not to love?  It’s three words in one.  Nevertheless is also one of the words I remember most clearly in Latin: tamen.

Two: floccinaucinihilipilification

noun: the action or habit of estimating something as worthless

Say it five times fast.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.  If I love a word that’s three words in one, of course I’m going to love a word that is longer than the alphabet.  This one is already part Latin, so no translations necessary…I think.

Three: onomatopoeia

noun: a word whose sound is the meaning

Pop, fizz, bubble, hiss, moo, knock-knock, tick, tock– everything Mr. Brown can do, you can do, too.

Four: extirpate

verb: to rip out by the roots; to destroy completely

True story– This morning I spent two hours in my back yard with the girl ridding the lawn of as many weeds as humanly possible.  For a time every chamberbitter and buttonweed plant I pulled prompted the mental exclamations: extirpate… pull… Extirpate…pull…EXTIRPATE! pull! 

Five: jocund

adjective: lively, high-spirited

Not a word that I use often; nonetheless, it’s a fun one.  See what I did there?  Okay, fine.  Shakespeare would approve.

Leave a Reply

