A Cookie is NOT a Dessert

First and foremost, let’s get one thing straight.  A cookie is not a dessert.  Yes, it’s sweet.  Yes, it’s most likely full of butter, and sugar, and maybe chocolate, and possibly even a few nuts, but if you tell me you’re bringing dessert and you hand me a cookie, I’m going to smirk at you—maybe not in your face, but most definitely in my head.  Is this polite?  Of course it isn’t.  But if you’re going to call a cookie a dessert, crumble it over some ice cream, or sandwich some ice cream between two cookies, or make one giant cookie and decorate it.  Just don’t hand me a solitary cookie and call it dessert, ‘cause, you know, I’m not three.

That said, today is National Cookie Day!  Is there a better month for cookies than December?  I think not.  Sadly, I don’t seem to have a single cookie recipe in The Pantry.  What’s up with that?  The closest I seem to come are these Chocolate Dipped Macaroons and this three year old post about cookies where I link some of the recipes below.

Here are some links to my favorite cookies– the ones I wish I could take credit for, but totally can’t– that I can’t do without over the holidays.

Original Nestle Toll House Cookies (Nestle)– for real– the BEST chocolate chip cookie recipe

Buttered Rum Meltaways (Martha Stewart)

Chewy Molasses Spice Cookies (Martha Stewart via Delish)– pictured in that old post referenced above

Pecan Bars (Martha Stewart)

Giant Sugar Cookies (Martha Stewart)

Thick, Chewy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies (Smitten Kitchen)– also in that old post

and my favorite sugar cookie for decorating:

Basic Sugar Cookie Recipe (Sugarbelle)

That particular one is a temperamental pain in the…okay, you get where I’m going here.  However, if you keep the dough chilled, roll it on the cookie sheet and just pull the excess dough away from it, life is much easier.  For me, it is the best tasting recipe I have found so far– worth the frustration.

 

One response to “A Cookie is NOT a Dessert

  1. I’m sorry that some guy ruined your precious party by showing up with a single solitary cookie when he was charged with supplying desserts (something you should have done as a host, by the way).
    However, the cookie is most definitely factually and indisputably a dessert when eaten as a last part of the meal.

Leave a Reply

