The Pantry: Easy Carrot & Raisin Salad

In a house where I am the only one who really embraces the wonder that is carrots–well, okay, except for the baby, but she eats hers as a mush–it’s rare that I indulge in this particular side dish.  Last night, though, I was grating some carrots, preparing to make my dad a carrot cake as a thank you for the mixer he and mom sent me, and I thought, “Ya know, I have all the ingredients for carrot and raisin salad.”

It took about five minutes to pull together, went well with dinner last night, and was even better this morning for breakfast.

Carrot & Raisin Salad

Ingredients

1 cup shredded carrots (about 2 medium carrots)

1/4 cup + 2 tablespoons raisins

1/3 cup pineapple tidbits, drained

1 tablespoon sour cream

1 tablespoon vanilla yogurt

1/8 teaspoon sugar

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

Directions

Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and refrigerate.  Yep, it’s that simple!  It’s good served after an hour or so in the ‘fridge, but it’s even better if you let it sit overnight. Trust me!

And just because it’s sooooooo pretty:

Leave a comment